Nuclear Regulation & Regulators

Argentine Nuclear Regulatory Authority (ARN) – The ARN reports to the President of Argentina and regulates and controls nuclear activities regarding radiological and nuclear safety, physical protection and nuclear non-proliferation.

Association Vincotte Nuclear (AVN) – This is a non-profit organization licensed by the Belgian authorities in the field of nuclear safety.

Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA) – ARPANSA is the Australian federal government agency with responsibility for protecting the health and safety of people and the environment from the harmful effects of radiation (ionizing and non-ionizing).

Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (ASNO) – ASNO is responsible for: nuclear safeguards, nuclear security and the physical protection of nuclear facilities; ensuring that nuclear materials and nuclear items – facilities, equipment, technology and nuclear-related materials – are appropriately regulated and accounted for; and ensuring Australia's commitments under the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) and the various bilateral safeguards agreements (covering supply of uranium and other issues) are met, particularly that nuclear activities are conducted for exclusively peaceful purposes.

Brazilian Comissao Nacional de Energia Nuclear (CNEN) – The commission is responsible for nuclear licensing and nuclear standards in Brazil.

Bulgarian Nuclear Regulatory Agency (NRA) – The Chair of the NRA is responsible for the regulation of nuclear energy, ionizing radiation, and radioactive waste and spent fuel management in Bulgaria.

Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) – Formerly the Atomic Energy Control Board (AECB), the CNSC oversees almost all activities in Canada involving nuclear energy and materials.

Chilean Nuclear Energy Commission (CCHEN) –  CCHEN was created in 1965  to "address the problems associated with the production, acquisition, transfer, transport and peaceful use of nuclear energy and of radioactive fissile and fertile materials." Its predecessor, Chile's National Nuclear Energy Commission (CNEN) had been established the previous year.

China's National Nuclear Safety Administration (NNSA) – Established in 1984 within the State Science and Technology Commission, the NNSA is the national nuclear and radiation safety regulator of China. In 1998 the NNSA was incorporated into the State Environmental Protection Administration, which in 2008 became the Ministry of Environmental Protection.

Czech State Office for Nuclear Safety (SUJB) – The SUJB is the regulatory body responsible for governmental administration and supervision of nuclear energy use and radiation protection.

Euratom Supply Agency (ESA) – The ESA's mission is to ensure a regular and equitable supply of nuclear fuel for EU users.

Finnish Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK) – STUK regulates the use of nuclear energy in Finland and also conducts research into radiation exposure.

Hungarian Atomic Energy Authority (HAEA) – Licensing and regulatory supervision of Hungary's nuclear facilities fall into the competence of the HAEA.

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) – The IAEA serves as the world's central intergovernmental forum for scientific and technical cooperation in the nuclear field. It is a specialized agency within the United Nations system. 

International Nuclear Law Association (INLA) – The INLA promotes studies and the knowledge of legal problems related to nuclear energy. In particular, it organizes congresses, discussions, lectures, conferences and seminars.

Israel Atomic Energy Commission (IAEC) – Established in 1952, the IAEC operates two research centres: the Soreq Nuclear Research Center and the Shimon Peres Negev Nuclear Research Center. The IAEC advises the government of Israel in areas of nuclear policy and in setting priorities in nuclear research and development.

Nuclear Regulation Authority, Japan – The NRA was established in 2012 as an external organization of the Ministry of the Environment. It replaced the Nuclear and Industrial Safety Agency (NISA), which came under the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), in order to separate nuclear regulation from the department responsible for natural resources and energy.

Korea Institute of Nuclear Safety (KINS) – This is a technical expert organization which performs regulatory functions such as safety reviews, inspections, and development of technical standards for the regulation of nuclear power plants and radiation facilities.

Latvian Ministry of Environmental Protection and Regional Development (VARAM) – The Ministry is responsible for radiation protection and nuclear safety.

Lithuanian Nuclear Power Safety Inspectorate (VATESI) – VATESI was established in 1991 following Lithuania's independence to ensure that nuclear safety standards meet international standards.

Rostechnadzor (Federal Environmental, Industrial and Nuclear Supervision Service of Russia) – Rostechnadzor is the Russian federal state supervisory body for nuclear energy uses. 

Nuclear Regulatory Authority of the Slovak Republic (UJD) – The UJD supervises the safety of nuclear installations, including radioactive waste management, spent fuel management and other stages of the fuel cycle.

Spanish Council for Nuclear Safety (CSN) – The CSN oversees nuclear safety and radiation protection in Spain, and is independent of central government.

Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (SSM) – The SSM is responsible for the regulation of nuclear safety, radiation protection and nuclear non-proliferation in Sweden. .

Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate (ENSI) – ENSI is the Swiss regulatory body with responsibility for the nuclear safety and security of nuclear facilities.

Thai Office of Atoms for Peace (OAP) – Thailand's Office of Atomic Energy for Peace (OAEP) was established through the 1961 Atomic Energy for Peace Act. OAEP was responsible for undertaking research and development in nuclear technology and regulating nuclear and radiation safety. In 2002 it was renamed the Office of Atoms for Peace (OAP) and in 2006 its nuclear research functions were transferred to the Thailand Nuclear Institute of Technology.

Turkish Nuclear Regulatory Authority (Nükleer Düzenleme Kurumu, NDK) – The NDK was established in 2018 to take over the nuclear safety and security regulatory role of the Turkish Atomic Energy Authority (TAEK). The TAEK was formed in 1982  during the restructuring of the Atomic Energy Commission, which was established in 1956. (The TAEK remains responsible for making nuclear policy recommendations to the prime minister, setting up and operating nuclear research centres, as well as  radioactive waste disposal and preparing the draft of the National Radioactive Waste Management Plan.)

UK Office for Nuclear Regulation (ONR) –  Established as an independent public corporation in April 2014, the ONR is responsible for regulating nuclear safety and security across the UK.

US Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) – The NRC is an independent agency established under the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 to ensure adequate protection of the public health and safety, the common defence and security, and the environment in the use of nuclear materials in the USA.

Vietnam Agency for Radiation and Nuclear Safety (VARANS) – VARANS is an agency under the Ministry of Science and Technology that assists the Minister to fulfil the functions of ensuring nuclear and radiation safety, and the security of nuclear material.

Safety of Nuclear Power Reactors